top of page

Saverio and the Aging Process - Part III


This is my third post about the little poochie my husband and I call Saverio. In one more month, Saverio will be 16 years old. His birthday is September 28th, 1999.

Although he is 'relatively healthy' for a little dog his age, he is also failing in ways that I deem to be heartbreaking. This past week it was National Dog Day (or was it National Pet Day?) In any event, Saverio has more health issues now. For instance, we can no longer just open our back slider and let him do his doggie business unsupervised. We need to consciously keep our eye on him in case he falls in our in-ground swimming pool.

When he walks, if he turns his head slightly to the right, his neck jolts like he has electrified twitches and sometimes he loses his balance because of it, falling off all four legs right over onto the grass or concrete, wherever he happens to be. If he does that near the edge of pool, he'll be falling in the water, without a doubt.

It's so sad to watch him deteriorate. And I know many of you who have pets that are part of your family know the feeling I am trying to relay.

His Vet says he is healthy but I wonder. The Vet knows he has this unnerving twitch. It's probably degenerative nerve damage in his spine or neck and there's nothing to do for it. Some crazy people have told me to "put him down!" Well, no freaking way will I do that. It is obvious to me these people do not have dogs or want them or like them. He's a family member NOT to be discarded like trash when it becomes convenient. (No wonder I like dogs more than most people)

Saverio sleeps a lot but he does not appear to be in any discomfort nor does he yelp like he's in pain anywhere. He can still hold his urine (unless he's being vindictive) and he eats and drinks very well. When he gets a puppy surge of energy, he goes to play with his toys. Mind you, it doesn't last but for a minute, then he realizes he's too old to be wrestling with a stuffed toy. Who knows, maybe he stops playing because he feels some discomfort from that electrical twitching in his neck.

At some point, it will be more humane to "put him down" as they say, but it is nowhere near that time. And when that time comes, I will be crying a river of tears from the heartbreak. :(

bottom of page