top of page

Trampled Underfoot-Another Preview

“Babe, let’s just go. Standing here is torture.”

“Meet me outside with the coffee, or don’t, it’s your choice.” She

took one step away then turned back and got in his face. “Don’t ever call

me that. I’m not your babe. We had one moment and it’ll never happen

again.”

Greg’s voice was smug. “You say you want him back, but which

version of Vic are you praying for?” he said and glanced at his brother.

His condition was the same, wildly flailing about on the gurney with a

blank expression on his face. “Who do you want, the real Vic Somers or

the figment of your imagination? He’ll never be the man you pretend

him to be.”

“He’s the father of my child and I love him.”

“And he’s the absentee father of Lorraine’s son.”

“Don’t you dare play that card, it’s not fair.”

“He doesn’t care about Charley. When was the last time he had

visitation?”

“Leave it alone, Greg. Please. I’m warning you.”

“You think he’ll be any different with VJ given the chance? Or you,

for that matter?”

“Vic fought for me. He fought to win me back, to be with me, to

marry me. He loves me and he loves VJ.”

“Does he? Love you? Is that why he still keeps a room at Somers

Point Inn?”

She crossed her arms. “I don’t believe you. You’re lying.”

“Check for yourself. Room 5D, the one next to mine.”

“You’re playing an awfully dirty hand of betrayal,” she said calmly.

“He’s your brother. You should be ashamed.”

“I know. But open your eyes. You’re living in denial.”

Boldly leaning in nose to nose, “Life’s easier in denial. That’s how

we both survive, isn’t it, Greg?” she said and then went toward the exit

for fresh air, devoid of any anger. Yeah, she could’ve slapped that

handsome face but why bother? He’s got his own agenda, his own

twisted delusions. California can have him and the sooner the better.

bottom of page