top of page

A Portal To the Past

I have previously stated where my inspiration to write Just Another Sunday came from, but I'm not sure if I have conveyed how profoundly driven I was to see this book to publication.

There is a section on this website, called My Journey, where I've said I was inspired by an 'old flame' who found me on Classmates.com. Well, that is very true. But songs from my youth also had a profound effect on me.

The one I have decided to tell you about is Over You by Gary Puckett and The Union Gap. The reason is simple. JDC (the old flame) chose to play that song for me through the telephone during our first conversation in 2006.

He asked me, "Do you remember this song?"

I placed my hand on my throat and gasped loudly! I never lingered in my past for more than a mere second but, upon hearing those opening notes, the song changed how I now look at life and all of its moments.

Hearing Over You instantly opened up a time portal to my past and sucked me in, transporting, catapulting me back to 1968-1972, where I lingered (re-lived) long enough (and then some) to write Just Another Sunday.

I can't fully convey to you just how deeply profound that particular moment was for me. I will never forget the effect that song had on me that day. Ever. I hadn't heard Over You in decades. I had no reason or inclination to dig out my old 45 record. And today's classic rock radio stations don't play every single oldie from every past artist. So I never listened to it throughout the years.

Every part of my being is connected to where I've been. Who I am now has been molded from the person I was back in 1968 and before. The whole of me is not incremental. I am the sum of my six decades on this earth thus far and everything that has happened in my life, good or bad, is something I cherish.

It's very hard to live in the past, even if it's only as a means to an end. I needed to write my book and that meant living in the past until it was completed. Not only was it difficult, but it was dangerous and detrimental to my health to not move forward but, instead, constantly look backward for the five years it took to complete my book.

I don't believe we as humans are meant to revisit the past for any long length of time other than for a fleeting moment.

Sure, we can reminisce from time to time. We like re-telling memorable stories at family gatherings and at re-unions, etc. We look at our old photos and say, "Wow, remember when..." We all watch old videos and laugh (or cry), and then tuck them away for the next time we are all together. How about the popular "Throw Back Thursday" on Facebook--where old photos and good times from the past are posted for all to see. I'm sure you've posted a few pictures of your own for #TBT.

But lingering and dwelling on what could have been, or what should have been, is a terrible way to live one's life. We are programmed to look ahead and move forward with our lives, not be stuck in the past. It stunts our growth.

We should also be grateful for every moment in time. We should cherish our past because it molded us. But we must focus on the here and now, and look forward with a happy heart.

I don't know who to give credit for these two sayings, but I love their message. They truly say it all:

DON'T LOOK BACK. YOU'RE NOT GOING THAT WAY.

and

DON'T LOOK BACK. YOU'LL MISS WHAT'S IN FRONT OF YOU.

bottom of page